To be awarded for the first time in 2016, the Berggruen Philosophy Prize will honor a living thinker whose ideas are of basic importance for contemporary life. It is intended to call attention to the role of ideas, of deep and careful thought, and with them humanistic scholarship and social research. The winner will receive $1 million dollars.


1. Nomination Criteria
The Berggruen Prize Jury is responsible for selecting the Prize Laureates. Nominations for the Prize may be submitted by any person; however,  a nomination for yourself will not be considered valid.
2. Nomination Process

2.1 The nomination need not be lengthy, but should include:

• Information on the nominee

• Information on the nominator
• An explanation of why the individual is considered by the nominator to be a worthy candidate for the Prize

To nominate, go to:

NOMINATIONS for Chair of APA Committee on Indigenous Philosophers

The APA is currently seeking nominations for the position of chair of the APA Committee on Indigenous Philosophers.

Please consider submitting a nomination for chair of the APA Committee on Indigenous Philosophers. The person appointed will serve a one-year term (July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017) as associate chair alongside current chair Anne Waters, whose term ends on June 30, 2017. On July 1, 2017, the person appointed will automatically ascend to chair of the committee for a three-year term.
Send your nominations to by Thursday, March 31. APA staff will then check all nominations for eligibility and willingness to serve; those willing and eligible will be asked to provide a brief CV and statement of interest, and the nomination materials will be forwarded to the current committee members for review. The committee will then be given the opportunity to provide a preference-ranked list of finalists from which the chair will be appointed.
If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to be in touch.
Amy Ferrer
Executive Director